English Advance!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Twisty-turny story-5/22

Go down

Twisty-turny story-5/22 Empty Twisty-turny story-5/22

Post  jihyun Sun May 25 2008, 15:27

(Park Mi-Hyun, Bae Sung-Han, Kim Young-ah, Jang Eun-Kil, Lee Pi-Su, and Park Bo-Yun)

Hi! It's the year 2015. I am a Korean student and I have just graduated from high school. I really have to say that I feel very proud of and confident in my English proficiency! I am not a special student. I'm average. But almost all "average" students in Korea these days like English and can use it well. That's because English education in Korean public schools is very different now compared to 10 years ago.....

First of all, our evaluation system has been changed. In the past, the evaluation focused mainly on reading ability. Now, however, we get tested for four abilities-Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing.
Accordingly, our classes have been changed as well. We do lots of practices in all sections.

Secondly, schools are only-English-speaking-zones now. That's why students easily speak in English instantly. Almost all the students used to use Korean only because they were not accustomed to using English in the school. After Evolutionary education began 5 years ago, they were a bit confused using English with other students. But some time later, students started to use it because they had known so much about the English language.