English Advance!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Twisty- turny story...

3 posters

Go down

Twisty- turny story... Empty Twisty- turny story...

Post  Nam-suk Wed May 28 2008, 11:04

written by Ryu Jeong A, Jang Deuk Ju, Park Bong Kyung, Bae Hae sol, Kang Eun mi, Jeong Ok sun

Hi! It's the year 2015. I am a Korean student and I have just graduated from high school. I really have to say that I'm very proud of and confident in my English proficiency. I am not a special student. I'm average. But almost all "average" students in Korea these days like English and can use it well. That's because English education in Korean public schools is very different now compared to 10 years ago..

Students nowadays can speak and listen to English comparatively well. Actually, their pronunciation is getting better..

Atmosphere of society, job market and classroom do not push students too much in terms of learning language. The goal is not to reach to the excellent level but to the level "as much as you need". So students get less stressful that they used to.

We have three native English speakers at my school. This is the case at most public schools in Korea. They are very kind and help us a lot with our English. Whenever we have questions or doubts related to English, they're there where we can easily resort to. Sometimes students at my school use the e-mail as an access to the native speakers, especially during the vacation. Although I learn a lot from my Korean English teachers, natives help us in a situation where it connotes more than a linguistic problem; there's no better way to understand culturally bound context from native teachers.