English Advance!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Twisty-turny story

Go down

Twisty-turny story Empty Twisty-turny story

Post  Kim Eun-jung Thu May 29 2008, 05:00

Written by Jung Ji-Eun, Kim Sun-Young, Son Mi-Jin, Hwang Yun-Kyoung, Joo Un-Jin, Kim Ji-Young

Hi! It's the year 2015. I'm a Korean student and I have just graduated from high school. I really have to say that I feel very proud of and confident in my English proficiency! I'm not a special student. I'm average. But almost all "average" students in Korea these days like English and can use it well. That's because English education in Korea public schools is very different now compared to 10 years ago...

First, no one speaks Korean in the classroom. Of course, teacher speaks only English and teaches English through English. And students are allowed to speak only English in the classroom. When this system started at first, lots of students complained about this. They told they couldn't understand and felt frustrated in the class. But teachers never gave up. They were always kind to us when we had questions and helped us so much! As time went by, We could adapt to this situation and gradually we felt comfortable using only English. It is a fantastic change, I think.

Another interesting change in English education is that each one of us has our own recorded files of our production. It is so called "conversation Box." It is also the name of special online chatting program.

In addition, in my school, there are some special supporting groups which help the students who have trouble using English. The groups provide students in trouble with some extra English classes. Of course, according to their proficiency, they can choose the class and also they are given some chances to talk about their language learning problems. They also have mento-mentee system, in which a fluent student helps a student who is not good at speaking the target language.