English Advance!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Twisty-Turny Story

Go down

Twisty-Turny Story Empty Twisty-Turny Story

Post  Mijin Son Mon May 26 2008, 15:38

Hi! It's the year 2015. I am a Korean student and I have jsut graduated from high school. I really have to say that I feel very proud of and confident in my English proficiency! I am not a special student. I'm average. But almost all "average" students in Korea these days like English and can use it well. That's because English education in korean public schools is very different now compared to 10 years ago.

Moon Nam-suk
Most of all, students don't need to be forced to use only English at school like 10 years ago, because they can use English everywhere over Korea. Over a decade, since Koreans have been educated with two languages(Korean, English), most Koreans don't feel uncomfortable about the fact that they need to be bilinguals all the time. This big change lessened students' big burden.

Kim Jin-young
With a lot of government grants, Korean government hires as many qualified foreigners as it can. Frankly, all the teachers in Korea can't provide 100% perfect English which is not totally like the standard English. However, taking foreigners to Korea could be a good way to fill in the lack of Korean teachers' proficiency.

Jeong Mi-jin