English Advance!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Twisty-turny Story

Go down

Twisty-turny Story Empty Twisty-turny Story

Post  Mi Jin Jeong Tue May 27 2008, 22:02

written by Bong-kyung Park, Hae-sol Bae, unknown author, Ok-sun Jeong, Nam-suk Moon, Jin-young Kim

Hi, It's the year 2015. I am a Korean student and I have just graduated from high school. I really have to say that I feel very proud of and confident in my English proficiency! I am not a special student. I'm average. But almost all "average" students in Korea these days like English and canuse it well. That's because English education in Korean public schools is very different now compared to 10 years ago...

English education focuses on speaking(communicative competence) more than before. A decade ago,it emphasized mainly on reading comprehension; However, nowadays we share more class time to speaking. For example, we have at least 3 hours of speaking classes now in public schools, everyone in the classroom including the teacher only communicating in English. Although sometimes it's quite frustrating, it provokes fun most of time. The class topics are various: simple presentation, discussion, etc. Whenever I speak with my friends in English, I get to know them better and can broaden my scope of knowledge.

To use English more naturally, all students have pen-pals from English-speaking countries' students. They e-mail each other and sometimes foreign students come to visit my school for one semester or so.Actually it's really interesting, of course, we learn more English writings naturally. Also we can make friends. WE can get to know each other and realize the differences between contries. In English class, we have a special time to introduce our pen-pals to the class and read some interesting letters. It really motivates to learn English.