English Advance!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Twisty-turny stories ^^*

Go down

Twisty-turny stories ^^* Empty Twisty-turny stories ^^*

Post  Oksun Wed May 28 2008, 10:35

Written by Lee Kyeongim, Ryu JeongA, Jang Deukju, Park Bongkyung, Bae Haesol, Kang Eunmi

Hi! It's the year 2015. I am a Korean student and I have just graduated from high school. I really have to say that I feel very proud of and confident in my English proficiency. I am not a special student. I'm average. But almost all "average" students in Korea these days like English and can use it well. That's because English education in Korean public school is very different now compared to 10 years ago...

One of differences is that there are many students whose parents are not Korean. As time goes by, it is common to meet foreigners as spouse. For them English is not the second language. It's natural to be the bilingual. Half of them (students) are not pure Korean students. As I communicate and play with them, "English" subject is not difficult or boring.

Another difference is coming out of the effects of mass media,which allow students to listen to English more naturally than ever before. On TV, there are many entertainers who came from a diversity of nationalities. They usually speak English to make themselves understood and so many Korean students who are often exposed to those kinds of programs are much better in understanding the meaning of conversation. Therefore, it is common to hear them mix their mother tongue and English in their every conversation.