English Advance!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Twisty Turny Story

Go down

Twisty Turny Story Empty Twisty Turny Story

Post  Boyun Park Wed May 28 2008, 17:55

Smile By Yoo-bin Cha, Mi-hyun Park, Sung-han Bae, Young-ah Kim, Eun-kil Jang, Pil-su Lee Smile

Hi ! It's the year 2015. I am a Korean student and I have just graduated from high school. I really have to say that I feel very proud of and confident in my English proficiency ! I am not a special student. I'm average. But almost all "average" students in Korea these days like English and can use it well. That's because English education in Korean public schools is very different now compared to 10 years ago.

First, in last 10 years, studying abroad and immigration have become very common. The national policies have changed a lot also and we import and export with open arms. Students have much more chances to communicate with foreigners for those reasons. We can come across many Chinese people also and speak English with them. A terrible disaster(earthquake) occurred in China in 2008 which affected global economy and many primary material prices went high. Since then many Chinese people have wanted to go abroad to earn money. I became friends with some of Chinese students too who are living in our neighborhood.

Second, there were around 40 students in one classroom back then. Now, however, there are more or less than 15 students. This is only happening at English class time though. We divide into two classes for English time according to our English levels. This helps students get individual attention from teachers. Moreover, we can learn faster and more efficiently based on our levels.