English Advance!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Twisty turny story

2 posters

Go down

Twisty turny story Empty Twisty turny story

Post  Ji Young, Kim Thu May 29 2008, 10:19

Written by Kim Hyo-Jin, Jung Ji-Eun, Kim Sang-young, Son Mi-Jin, Hwang Yun-Kyung, Joo Un-Jin

Hi! It's the year 2015. I am a Korean student and I have just graduated from high school. I really have to say that I feel very proud of and confident in my English proficiency! I am not a special student. I'm average. But almost all "average" students in Korea these days like English and can use it well. That's because English education in Korean public school is very different now compared to 10 years ago.

First, the evaluation system has changed a lot. As you know, students used to be under a lot of pressure to study English in order to get a good score on the entrance exam and enter privileged universities in the past. In those days the English test in the Korean SAT was a multiple-choice one, which could measure one's test-taking ability more properly rather than one's overall English proficiency. We don't have that kind of "bizarre" English test any more. For sure we still have to take English tests to get into college, but all the major English tests now are designed to measure one's overall English proficiency including the 4 skills of English, speaking, listening, reading and writing.

And we have English classes with a native speaker three times a week. Every class, we can have a chance to communicate with him or her for around 10 minutes. Our native English teacher always prepares some topics for us and lets us practice authentic English. At first, I felt quite embarrassed and awkward because of my poor English ability, but this repeated short conversation with a native speaker helped me to get more confident in English. It seems like most of the students really enjoy this class and are looking forward to it.