English Advance!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

[OP10] Opinion on possibility of implementing effective English instruction

3 posters

Go down

[OP10] Opinion on possibility of implementing effective English instruction Empty [OP10] Opinion on possibility of implementing effective English instruction

Post  Ko, Min-Jung Thu Jun 05 2008, 09:01

Koreans compare the class packed with students to mung bean sprouts. When I was an elementary student, there were 70 students in a class. When I graduate high school, we had almost 60 students in a class. My mother has worked as an elementary school teacher since 1960s, and she says in those times she taught 100 students in a class. The amazing number even scares us, making us doubt whether the normal teaching and learning could have been in that situation. Nowadays there are almost 40 students in a class. A simple mathematics shows that it takes more than 10 years to reduce 10 students in a class. The most efficient teaching method for many students in a class is regarded as lecturing and we have been taught so. On the contrary lecturing is considered as least effective teaching method in language learning. Korea is in a dilemma in the middle of large teacher to student ration and effective English instruction.

Firstly, in language learning interaction between teacher and students is a necessity. Language cannot be learned alone. Reading and grammar may be self-studied. However, as Koreans who have studied by GTM method, it produces crippled language learners. In a big class, it’s hard to even listen to each student’s saying, not to speak of giving a feedback.

Secondly, it takes a lot of time to take control of the whole class. There are many activities to have students speak more but they can lead to a chaotic atmosphere. Then teacher should spend lots of time on quieting students down and the 20-minute main activity is reduced to 10 to 15 minute.