English Advance!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Journal 3 - Reflection about Korean university

3 posters

Go down

Journal 3 - Reflection about Korean university Empty Journal 3 - Reflection about Korean university

Post  Seyoung Yoon Sat Jun 07 2008, 19:59

When I was high school student, I dreamed the life in University. I expected an amazing life in University, thus I studied very hard to achieve my goal. Actually most high school students in Korea cannot live interesting high school lives because of preparing KSAT. I can say that Korean students study hardest in the world. Therefore, for them, university life means the freedom. I was one of the students who dreamed the same thing.

However I was really disappointed to the quality of education and other activities I involved in university. I thought that I could choose and take the classes which I like so that every class would be enjoyable. Moreover, there is professor not teacher who is almost experts in their field, thus I expected to know deeper knowledge which I couldn't study in high school. Actually, I thought that there would be something wonderful in University. However that was not true. In fact, university was the same with high school. Maybe that's because students had been suppressed by regulation they had to follow within the boundaries as minorities. It makes them enjoy their lives as possible as they can, so they don't mind their study at all when they are in lower grades. Of course there are students who continuously pound the book by themselves. Still, it is clear that academic achievement is not the main thing for university students.