English Advance!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Twisty Turny Story

Go down

Twisty Turny Story Empty Twisty Turny Story

Post  bakbann Wed May 28 2008, 11:01

Joo Un-jin, anonymous writer, Kim Ji Young, Kim Eun-jung, Kim Bo-yeun, Kim Hyun-jin, Yoobin Cha

Hi! It's the year 2015. I'm a Korean student and I have just graduated from high school. I really have to say that I feel so proud of and confident in my English proficiency! I am not a special student. I'm average. But almost all "average" students in Korea these days like English and can use it well. That's because English education in Korean public schools is very different now compared to 10 years ago.

First, all the English classes are conducted only in English. Teachers used to taught English in Korean. Rumor has it that it was highly controversial when it was first introduced. However, TEE enabled students feel familiar with English by exposing them to English at the very beginning of their English education. Take my case, I not only listen solely English during classes, but also speak in English like whenever I ask questions. Thanks to TEE, I feel free to listen and speak in English.

Second, the materials we use nowadays in English class are authentic, well-organized, and fun. It is totally different from the ones used 10 years ago. I happened to see an old English textbook and I couldn't believe my eyes. The textbook was so boring in terms of the content and organization and English there was not authentic at all. These days, we use very genuine materials during classes. To be specific, there is no one fixed textbook, but we deal with various kinds of fun materials. For example, in reading classes, we read newspaper articles, some chapters from best-selling thrillers or funny advertisements. Consequently, high quality material improved not only students' interests and motivation but also their English proficiency.