English Advance!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Personal Journal 4

3 posters

Go down

Personal Journal 4 Empty Personal Journal 4

Post  Young Mon May 05 2008, 19:17

Early-Childhood English education

English education is one of the controversial, important issues in Korea. Nowadays, the age of starting studying English is getting younger and younger. In learning foreign languages, starting age must be very crucial and the key to make the result be either successful or unsuccessful. In Korea, public schools start to teach English to the third grade elementary school students. However, some learners start earlier than the third grade of an elementary school. Is it okay to start earlier and what does the government have to do to fulfill the reality?

Personally, I started learning English when I was 14 years old right before entering a middle school. I learned grammar and vocabulary at first to prepare English for a middle school. At that time, most students started studying English like me. Later, I was interested in pronouncing English, so I bought some cassette tapes of my middle school English textbooks and practiced pronunciation with those tapes by myself regardless of assessment at school. However, since I didn’t get help to study English from both my parents and teachers, I couldn’t continue studying English in the way I liked. Finally, at a high school, I couldn’t enjoy English, and even a little interest about English disappeared. Then, I started studying English after graduating from a high school. Sometimes, I think what if I started learning English earlier with parents’ support or public schools provided very motivating English education for me. If I had experienced at least one of them, I could have enjoyed English much more and have a career in a better English-related work place now.