English Advance!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Twisty turny story

Go down

Twisty turny story Empty Twisty turny story

Post  sunnypine Tue May 27 2008, 08:02

From One Future Student…
Yoo-jin Jung, Yujin Lee, Kyeong-im Lee, JeongA Ryu,
DeukJu Jang, and Bong-kyung Park

Hi! It's the year 2015. I am a Korean student and I have just graduated from high school. I really have to say that I feel very proud of and confident in my English proficiency! I am not a special student. I'm average. But almost all "average" students in Korea these days like English and can use it well. That's because English education in Korean public schools is very different now compared to 10 years ago...

First, English teachers speak English in English class all the time, which was impossible in 2005 in Korea. Teachers teach English conversation skills, vocabulary, and grammar and so on. At the first time, it was very weird to us, but it became used to it. Teacher explains lots of times when se don’t understand something. Using gestures, using pictures and explaining in easy words, we come to understand in English. Through teaching English in English, the more we can be exposed to English, the more we can be familiar with English.

Every vacation, my school sends us to English speaking countries, such as America, England, Australia, and New Zealand etc for free!! We can experience real culture of English. For example, last summer, we went to Australia and studied in the Australian school. We made a lot of foreign friends whom actually we’ve still been making a contact with. From these experiences, we learned English is not something we should study hard but something we need to communicate with people.