English Advance!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Twisty turny story

Go down

Twisty turny story Empty Twisty turny story

Post  Ryu Jeong A Wed May 28 2008, 20:44

Park Ji Hyun, ?no name?, Eunjin Cho, Han Kyung Jae, Yoojin Jung, Lee Yujin, Lee Kyeong-im, and Ryu Jeong A(editor)

Hi, it’s the year 2015. I am a Korean student and I have just graduated from high school. I really have to say that I feel very proud of and confident in my English proficiency! I am not a special student. I am average. But almost all “average” students in Korea these days like English and can use it well. That’s because English education in Korean public school is very different now compared to 10 years ago.

You know why? First of all, middle and high schools’ system and their level of teaching environment become same as the best. Ten years ago, we had very different level of schools. So, people let their children study to enter a ‘good’ school not for study itself. Because of this, there were so many private institutes where they helped students enter those schools. But now, every school has the best educational environment. So, children do not need to prepare for entering exam. They can enjoy English due to the very good system and school environment, and start to have great interests in learning English.

Next, we have more chances to use English while we are attending middle and high school. For example, we have sisterhood relationship with some schools abroad like U.S.A., Great Britain, Australia, Japan, etc., so we have well-developed exchange student programs. Students are coming and going, and able to learn the culture and language from other countries; moreover, those students who are meeting new students broad can be nice helpers and friends by communicating with the visiting students in English.